top of page

Aida Curtis Elected to Prestigious American Society of Landscape Architects Council of Fellows

“This year's class of ASLA Fellows has made outstanding contributions to people's health, safety, and welfare; environmental sustainability and climate resilience; and stronger communities,” says ASLA President Emily O’Mahoney

[Miami, FL] (July 30, 2023) – The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the election of Aida Curtis of Curtis + Rogers Design Studio as one of 48 ASLA Fellows. ASLA Fellows are recognized for their exceptional contributions to the landscape architecture profession and society at large. Election to the ASLA Council of Fellows is among the highest honors the ASLA bestows on members and is based on their works, leadership/management, knowledge and service.

“Landscape architects help build a better world for all of us, and ASLA Fellows represent the most respected and accomplished professionals in the entire field,” said ASLA President Emily O'Mahoney, FASLA. “This year's class of ASLA Fellows has made outstanding contributions to people's health, safety, and welfare; environmental sustainability and climate resilience; and stronger communities. Congratulations to the 2023 class of ASLA Fellows!”

“Naming a new class of ASLA Fellows is a joyful reminder of everything that landscape architects do to make our communities more equitable, more beautiful, and more resilient,” said ASLA CEO Torey Carter-Conneen (@toreycarter). “We extend our warmest thanks to the new class of ASLA Fellows for all of their accomplishments and contributions to human flourishing.”

Aida Curtis has built a practice over four decades focused on the enrichment of the public realm. Through the range of her experience—from the largest public projects in South Florida to meaningful philanthropic efforts—she leads with a spirit of collaboration centered on design and social equity. Long before it became fashionable, she demonstrated that landscape architects can and should be at the forefront of the climate action movement. On the national level, her work on the ASLA Climate Action Committee resulted in the Climate Action Guide being paired with a Field Guide to help practitioners develop strategies to increase their climate activism. Aida has been active on several other ASLA committees, among them the ASLA Conference Education Advisory Committee and the Ethics Committee. The leader of a minority/woman-owned firm, she is the only landscape architect appointed to serve on the Climate and Heat Health Task Force of Miami-Dade County and helped to develop its first Extreme Heat Action Plan. Aida convinced the City of Miami to establish an ordinance that requires a landscape architect to be involved in all projects that involve stormwater and encourages all waterfront development to follow the Waterfront Edge Design Guidelines—a rating system that ensures sustainable practices. Aida’s passion for creating beautiful, sustainable, and functional outdoor spaces will continue to have an impact on landscape architecture for generations to come.

ASLA Fellows will be elevated during a special investiture ceremony at the 2023 Conference on Landscape Architecture, which will be held in Minneapolis, October 27-30, 2023.

More information about the ASLA Council of Fellows is available here:

Fellow biographies are available here:

2023 ASLA Fellows:

● Patrick Jay Beam, ASLA, Beam Designs LLC, Powell, Ohio

● Robb Berg, ASLA, Design Workshop, Denver, Colorado

● Tina Bishop, ASLA, Mundus Bishop, Denver, Colorado

● C.L. Bohannon, ASLA, University of Virginia, Charlottesville

● Renée Byers, ASLA, Renée Byers Landscape Architect, Bronxville, New York

● Taewook Cha, ASLA, Supermass Studio, Forest Hills, New York

● Nancy Beth Clark, ASLA, Clark Condon Associates, Houston, Texas

● Allison Kirkpatrick Colwell, ASLA, Colwell Shelor Landscape Architecture, Phoenix, Arizona

● Aida Curtis, ASLA, Curtis + Rogers Design Studio, Miami, Florida

● M. Eric Davis, ASLA, Surface 678, Durham, North Carolina

● Sharon Deep-Nelson, ASLA, Landscape Architect, Birmingham, Alabama

● Michelle Delk, ASLA, Snohetta, New York, New York

● Nord Eriksson, ASLA, EPT Design, Pasadena, California

● Yunhui (Connie) Fan, ASLA, LSG Landscape Architecture, Tysons, Virginia

● Craig Farnsworth, ASLA, Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana

● Kelleann Foster, ASLA, Pennsylvania State University, State College

● Kenneth Francis, ASLA, Surroundings Studio, Sante Fe, New Mexico

● Jay Gehler, ASLA, Coleman Company, Savannah, Georgia

● Robert J. Gunderson, ASLA, SGA Group, Buffalo, Minnesota

● Bryan Hanes, ASLA, Studio Bryan Hanes, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

● Jeffrey Hou, ASLA, University of Washington, Seattle

● Dorothée Imbert, ASLA, The Ohio State University, Columbus

● Manisha Kaul, ASLA, Design Workshop, Chicago, Illinois

● Kate Kennen, ASLA, Northeastern University, Boston, Massachusetts

● John Kett, ASLA, Reed Hilderbrand, Cambridge, Massachusetts

● David Koga, ASLA, The Land Group, Eagle, Idaho

● Joy Marie Kuebler, ASLA, Joy Kuebler Landscape Architect, North Tonawanda, New York

● Marieke Lacasse, ASLA, GGLO, Seattle, Washington

● Theodore Lee, ASLA, HGA, Minneapolis, Minnesota

● Robert Loftis, ASLA, MRWM Landscape Architects, Albuquerque, New Mexico

● Jeanne Lukenda, ASLA, Resilient Great Lakes, Dover, Massachusetts

● Laurie Matthews, ASLA, MIG, Portland, Oregon

● Emily McCoy, ASLA, Design Workshop, Raleigh, North Carolina

● Karen McCoy, ASLA, MKSK, Columbus, Ohio

● Guy Michaelsen, ASLA, Berger Partnership, Seattle, Washington

● Willett Moss, ASLA, CMG Landscape Architecture, San Francisco, California

● Galen D. Newman, ASLA, Texas A&M University, College Station

● Nancy Owens, ASLA, Nancy Owens Studio, New York, New York

● Ebru Ozer, ASLA, Florida International University, Miami

● Robert F. Poore, ASLA, Native Habitats, Inc., Flora, Mississippi

● Kenneth Prince, ASLA, City of Mishawaka, Indiana

● Robert Rennebohm, ASLA, Rennebohm & Associates, Clive, Iowa

● Kirt Rieder, ASLA, Hargreaves Jones, Cambridge, Massachusetts

● Stephen Schrader, ASLA, Renta Urban Land Design, Birmingham, Alabama

● Kate Stickley, ASLA, Arterra Landscape Architects, San Francisco, California

● Jennifer Toole, ASLA, Toole Design Group, Silver Spring, Maryland

● Mauricio Villarreal, ASLA, PLACE, Portland, Oregon

● Bo Yang, ASLA, University of Arizona, Tucson


Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page